About Chelsea

My name is Chelsea Dunbar. I am from Florida, but I now live in Atlanta, Georgia with my husband, Reese and our sweet baby boy Gavin. I graduated from The Savannah College of Art and Design with a Bachelors Degree of Fine Arts in Interior Design, which is how I ended up in Atlanta and also how I ended up married. I started out living in Savannah and then was asked to open the Atlanta campus (after being offered free housing--whew, smallest free housing EVER!). After living in a super-duper small hotel room for several months, I was ready to move back to Savannah. I was then offered an amazing internship opportunity at an architecture firm in Atlanta. I figured I could sleep on a mattress in my friends' downtown condo for a couple of months and accepted the job offer. Then I met Reese. He was amazing, smart, very funny and after a brief summer of LOOOVE I decided to make the move to Atlanta permanent and finished up my degree in Atlanta.

While finishing up at SCAD I was given another great opportunity at a residential design firm and got to design some beautiful homes, some if which were for a D-List celebrity family in Alabama. I always knew that I wanted to work for a particular Atlanta design firm (tvsdesign-then TVS Interiors) and was given the amazing opportunity to work for them as a student intern. The rest is history. I spent 5 great years designing retail centers all over the world, beautiful offices, gorgeous hotel rooms etc. etc. I met some truly incredible designer-friends and got to work at one of the best firms in the world, who also paid for my NCIDQ certification (fabulous). I have been so lucky to have had such great opportunities.

Fast forward to last year. I was pregnant, the economy was not-so-great and I was working some long hours at not-so-great pay. I thought about what I could do to make some extra money. I partnered up with another fellow designer and we started workin-it on the residential side of the design industry part-time.  After Baby G arrived, I knew that I needed to figure out a way to work from home, full-time. So I am now a full-time Mom and a full-time designer. This equates to a lot of late nights, working on the weekends and begging for forgiveness from my very understanding husband. I thought that I should document this latest adventure of running my own design firm, Chelsea Dunbar Interiors. So far it has been a truly fantastic experience thanks to support from my family and friends who keep passing along great referrals which has already led to a wonderful client base all over the Southeast!

A few things about me....

Favorite Pastimes: Travel, spending time with her family, reading, eating delicious food, and boating

Favorite Color: This week...coral

Favorite Book: Memoirs of a Geisha

Favorite Artist/Designer: Old...Antoni Gaudi New...Karim Rashid

Favorite Flower: Peony

Favorite Super-Hero power: The ability to clean a room with the blink of an eye!